International Studies & Programs

Home > Visa and Immigration > Immigration Alerts

Travel Ban

Travel Ban 3.0 is currently in effect. U.S. Supreme Court upheld Travel Ban 3.0 on June 26, 2018. The travel ban limits entry to the United States by certain citizens of seven countries: Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, and Somalia.

The ban had already been in effect since December 4, 2017, after the Supreme Court stayed preliminary injunctions that had partially blocked the ban. For specifics on the ban, visit Travel Ban 3.0 updated by NAFSA. Please contact OISS regarding travel to and from the U.S. if you are from the seven countries.

Effective December 4, 2017, the U.S. government can fully enforce Travel Ban 3.0 on the following countries:

  • Chad
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • Syria
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

These restrictions may apply unless you are exempt or granted a waiver. OISS recommends that individuals from the eight countries listed in the travel ban not to travel outside the U.S. unless absolutely necessary.

International students and scholars who are concerned about how an Executive Order could affect their immigration status can contact OISS to speak with an advisor: 517-353-1720 or oiss(at)

Undergraduate Students

For concerns on how the Executive Order could impact your academics at MSU, contact Assistant Dean Debra Dotterer by email dotterer(at) or call 1-517-353-3243.

Graduate Students

For concerns regarding how the Executive Order could impact your academics at MSU, contact Associate Dean Tony Nunez by email nunez(at) or call 1-517-353-3220.

More Information and Resources